Sugar waxing

Heeey ladies, I thought I would share my secret in saving the big bucks and multiple costly trips to the salon for hair removal. It costs an arm and leg to feel and look good for yourself or your significant other. “seriously though” who likes other people checking and examining you areas. “haha not me its awkward”.

So I seen this short story on Yahoo or some website  about a store in New Zealand that do sugar wax treatments. I watched tutorials and was amazed by the results. I was not only hairless with the softness skin but there was not blood spots nor broken hair follicles.

I haven’t shaved in at least a year. I do shave my legs because I haven’t yet tried soft wax. Sugar wax also known as Arabic wax has gone back centuries and is great. The wax only sticks to the hair not the skin so the follicles are pulled by the root. The hair does not grow back for two weeks or longer.

You can literally wax anything on your body with the following method and tips for a perfect result. for the brave hearted you can definitely do your own Brazilian with a mirror that is.

Sugar Wax Ingredients and method

Ingredients

2 cups of white sugar can be regular or caster   (no icing sugar)

1/4 cups of water

1/4 lemon or lime juice

Equipment

1x Fry pan

1x Wooden spoon

1x Large Plate

1x heatproof container to store

1x Tablespoon

sugar-wax

Method

  1. Put all ingredients into fry pan and boil the sugar on a medium high heat until it turns to a darkish golden colour. Mix often. Looks like the second picture or even a bit darker.
  2. Put a teaspoon of cold water onto the plate and wipe all of the water over the plate, and wait 2-3 minutes while the liquid cools in the pan.
  3. Transfer the liquid from pan onto the plate. (its still very very hot don’t touch)
  4. Use the table spoon to pull the liquid from the outside of the plate to the inside. (It is a way of cooling the wax)
  5. When the wax is cool enough to handle pull a large amount of, you might have to do this quite a few time until all the wax has been done.
  6. Roll the wax in a ball and stretch it until it turns a creamy golden colour like below.494abff49fe3da4e4bf9252757f5274c
  7. You can use the wax and store the remaining in the container and keep it in the fridge.
  8. When pushing the wax down the same way the hair grows you stretch it. With the other hand taught the skin and rip the wax in the opposite direction.
  9. When you have waxed the area you wanted wet with the flannel to remove stickyness or just shower.
  10. Goodluck 🙂 you will be amazed by the results.

Tips

  1. First to prepare, The night before exfoliate the area you will be waxing. This means scrub you body with a loafer. The heat from the Shower or bath will open your pores and make it less painful when the hair is pulled out.
  2. before using the wax you have made make sure you stretch it, by stretching the wax you warm it up and it becomes sticky. *wax hardens so you are able to warm it up by storing the wax in a container  and you put the container in hot boiled water.
  3. When getting ready to wax have a flannel and little tub of water handy as your hands and skin gets sticky. So when you have finished you can wipe the stickiness off. It good to moisturize after waxing.
  4. Its handy to sprinkle a little baby powder on the skin before waxing so you can grip more hair than without baby powder.
  5. With the few small hairs that do no get removed tweezers come in handy.

Please subscribe to my youtube channel where I will be doing a demonstration of how to make and use sugar wax. you may also find other useful DIY and beauty hacks. https://www.youtube.com/channel/UColQQAg1jggsNPUhwj4vajA

23 thoughts on “Sugar waxing

    • It is hard wax. You taught the skin push and stretch the wax down and flick the end of the wax up and taught skin opposit way then pull. The wax will cleanly rip hair away. Hard wax can be used over and over again for one use. For example a ball of hard wax can be used for both legs

      Like

  1. This is by far the best wax recipe I have ever tried. I really loved it. I only used a little bit to wax my under arm and girly area and was still left with alot more. I saved the remainder and will use it on my legs later. This will last me 2 months. Cant believe how cheap it cost. Thank u so much.
    I still pulled a bit of skin but I guess I had too much hair down there. It was all worth it.

    Like

  2. How much lemon juice? It just says, 1/4? Is that a quarter of a lemon? or should there be a measurement next to it. Thanks! Can’t wait to try this!

    Like

  3. Pingback: Como tener piernas suaves y hermosas – Únicas

  4. After my wax cools it is not sticky enough to attach to my hair. I had to reheat in the microwave for 10 seconds and try to get it on my leg very quickly which did not feel good. Any tips?

    Like

    • There is a small amount of pains when you first start sugar waxing. But the more your do it the less prone to the pain you become. The first time I started with sugar wax I went straight to my bikini line and Oh My Gosh, It took me close to an hour. But now my skin is prone to the pulling and skin is super soft

      Like

    • This happens when the sugar wax has over cooked. Has happened many times when I started trying sugar wax. Practice makes perfect. It is so worth it in the long run. I find it much less painful than waxing strips or shaving. As there is less irritations

      Like

    • When you do a batch of sugar wax. Each batch can be reused 3-4 seperate times. For example one small half of palm ball of sugar wax can do my whole bikini line, or both my armpits. The same ball of sugar wax pulled can be used in one session multiple times on the same area.

      Like

    • For what area of waxing? for legs, arms and shorter hair I would suggest 1/2 inch of hair with soft sugar wax. This is when you use the flat stick to apply then pull. Hard wax Is more preferable for thicker hair such as armpits and bikini and ect they would require hair to grow out 2-3 weeks.

      Like

  5. Pingback: 9 Unwanted Hair Removal DIYs for Smooth and Beautiful Skin

Leave a Reply

